You get out what you put in

You would have thought that since I produce the finest quality mutton and lamb that I would be pretty familiar with the above rule of thumb. You would have thought…

Not all of my lambs make it to the restaurant’s or customers kitchens. Some are just not up to the mark for what is a high quality product with a high quality carcass. So what do I do with them? They go to market and then some lucky punter at Tesco who thinks she is getting bog standard supermarket lamb is infact getting rare breed Wiltshire Horn lamb – lucky her!

Now as with all things in business one tries to keep down costs and since these lambs are destined for the supermarket they are fattened on the same food as the supermarket lamb – concetrate sheep feed. This is a general mixture of feed stuffs with the right balance of protein, carbs, vitamins and minerals. Rest assured this is the same stuff that the “Finest” range will probably be fattened on in the winter but it’s not good enough for proper grassfed lamb and mutton.

This year my father ordered “Course  Ration” which is a feed made up of grains, pulses molases and vitamins/minerals. I wasn’t particularly pleased since it costs £20 per tonne more. However, I’m now feeding the tiddlers on it and they are thriving. They are visibly gaining weight by the day, their guts will be working better so they make better use of the species rich hay and they look bright eyed and bushy tailed. Even better, they are eating about 1/2 to 2/3 of what they were of the concentrate sheep feed and so saving me money on very low margin venture that is not part of my main business.

I really shold have listened to what I’ve been saying all this time!

MDAL

Leave a Reply

